Farnborough Swimming Club

he seal series is a stand-alone series which should only be undertaken by competent swimmers, who have completed the Shark Series. This series is designed to build personal survival skills. On completion of seal three, a candidate will be able to demonstrate:

  • Perform a straddle entry from the poolside.
  • Swim 100 metres in less than 21/2 minutes.
  • Remove footwear and tread water for 2 minutes; simulating cramp in one leg, massage the affected leg with a free hand.
  • Tread water for 5 minutes.
  • Swim 500 metres in less than 15 minutes.
  • Tread water for 2 minutes waving one arm above the water to attract attention.
  • Find a floating object and then remove an article of clothing.
  • Swim with the floating object for 100 metres, resting twice in the H.E.L.P. position for 2 minutes each time.
  • Climb out of the pool in deep water without assistance.

The Water Safety Skills Series comprises three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold; with badges and certificates. This series develops and builds personal survival and rescue skills. On completion of the Gold water safety award, candidates can demonstrate:

  • Swim 200 metres wearing long clothing, tread water for 2 minutes waving one arm to attract attention and 2 minutes normally. Collect a buoyant aid, show the H.E.L.P. position for 1 minute and the Huddle for 2 minutes then swim 200 metres with the aid and climb out unassisted.
  • Perform a head and feet- first surface dive and swim 5 metres underwater wearing long clothing.
  • Remove long clothing while in deep water.
  • Swim 25 metres lifesaving backstroke.
  • Swim 25 metres sidestroke.
  • Simulate a weak swimmer becoming tired and then unresponsive